Moto GP Track Report – Round 7 Catalunya

What was the strategy for the Catalan race?

We had to understand how the tires worked because our riders Marc and Dani both started with different tires. It was tough because Ducati was fast here. Our strategy was try to keep the tires in good shape until the end.

The positive points and negative points after the race?

Dani didn’t start from a great grid position, but after a good start he improved his situation a lot. Marc kept his position at the top of the championship and one of his most important competitors Dovizioso did not finish today’s race.

The view from pit wall during the race?

A race like this is always very difficult because it depends on what’s happening with the tires and also with the weather, because the track temperature was high. But overall we got a great result for Honda, with Marc second, Crutchlow fourth and Dani fifth.

The inside story apart from official comments?

This weekend has been a big tribute for Andreas Perez, the young rider who passed away last week. We also remembered Luis Salom, who now has a big mural in his memory at turn 12, which is now called Luis Salom Corner.


MotoGP World Championship Grand Prix 2018
Round 07: Catalunya Race


MotoGP Class

Rank Rider (Team)
1 Jorge LORENZO (Ducati Team)
2 Marc MARQUEZ (Repsol Honda Team)
3 Valentino ROSSI (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP)
5 Dani PEDROSA (Repsol Honda Team)
6 Maverick VIÑALES (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP)
7 Johann ZARCO (Monster Yamaha Tech 3)
8 Danilo PETRUCCI (Alma Pramac Racing)
9 Alvaro BAUTISTA (Angel Nieto Team)
11 Pol ESPARGARO (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing)
12 Scott REDDING (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini)
13 Karel ABRAHAM (Angel Nieto Team)
14 Franco MORBIDELLI (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS)
RT Hafizh SYAHRIN (Monster Yamaha Tech 3)
RT Tito RABAT (Reale Avintia Racing)
RT Jack MILLER (Alma Pramac Racing)
RT Bradley SMITH (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing)
RT Andrea DOVIZIOSO (Ducati Team)
RT Xavier SIMEON (Reale Avintia Racing)
RT Aleix ESPARGARO (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini)
RT Thomas LUTHI (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS)
RT Mika KALLIO (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing)

Moto2 Class

Rank Rider (Team)
1 Fabio QUARTARARO (Beta Tools – Speed Up Racing)
2 Miguel OLIVEIRA (Red Bull KTM Ajo)
3 Alex MARQUEZ (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS)
4 Marcel SCHROTTER (Dynavolt Intact GP)
5 Xavi VIERGE (Dynavolt Intact GP)
6 Brad BINDER (Red Bull KTM Ajo)
7 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI (Pons HP40)
8 Francesco BAGNAIA (SKY Racing Team VR46)
9 Sam LOWES (Swiss Innovative Investors)
10 Iker LECUONA (Swiss Innovative Investors)
11 Andrea LOCATELLI (Italtrans Racing Team)
12 Simone CORSI (Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto2)
13 Tetsuta NAGASHIMA (IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia)
14 Augusto Fernandez (Pons HP40)
15 Remy GARDNER (Tech 3 Racing)
16 Edgar Pons (AGR Team)
17 Luca MARINI (SKY Racing Team VR46)
18 Steven ODENDAAL (NTS RW Racing GP)
19 Khairul Idham PAWI (IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia)
20 Dominique AEGERTER (Kiefer Racing)
21 Danny KENT (MB Conveyors – Speed Up Racing)
22 Joe ROBERTS (NTS RW Racing GP)
23 Jules DANILO (Nashi Argan SAG Team)
24 Dimas EKKY PRATAMA (Astra Honda Racing Team)
25 Eric GRANADO (Forward Racing Team)
RT Romano FENATI (Marinelli Snipers Team)
RT Mattia PASINI (Italtrans Racing Team)
RT Joan MIR (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS)
RT Federico FULIGNI (Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto2)
RT Jorge NAVARRO (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2)
RT Bo BENDSNEYDER (Tech 3 Racing)
RT Niki TUULI (SIC Racing Team)
RT Stefano MANZI (Forward Racing Team)

Moto3 Class

Rank Rider (Team)
1 Enea BASTIANINI (Leopard Racing)
2 Marco BEZZECCHI (Redox PruestelGP)
3 Gabriel RODRIGO (RBA BOE Skull Rider)
4 John MCPHEE (CIP – Green Power)
5 Tatsuki SUZUKI (SIC58 Squadra Corse)
6 Kaito TOBA (Honda Team Asia)
7 Fabio DI GIANNANTONIO (Del Conca Gresini Moto3)
8 Alonso LOPEZ (Estrella Galicia 0,0)
9 Dennis FOGGIA (SKY Racing Team VR46)
10 Raul Fernandez (Angel Nieto Team)
11 Jakub KORNFEIL (Redox PruestelGP)
12 Makar YURCHENKO (CIP – Green Power)
13 Adam NORRODIN (Petronas Sprinta Racing)
14 Nakarin ATIRATPHUVAP (Honda Team Asia)
15 Livio LOI (Reale Avintia Academy)
16 Philipp OETTL (Sudmetal Schedl GP Racing)
17 Lorenzo DALLA PORTA (Leopard Racing)
RT Jaume MASIA (Bester Capital Dubai)
RT Andrea MIGNO (Angel Nieto Team Moto3)
RT Aron CANET (Estrella Galicia 0,0)
RT Nicolo BULEGA (SKY Racing Team VR46)
RT Albert ARENAS (Angel Nieto Team Moto3)
RT Tony ARBOLINO (Marinelli Snipers Team)
RT Ayumu SASAKI (Petronas Sprinta Racing)
RT Marcos RAMIREZ (Bester Capital Dubai)
RT Jorge MARTIN (Del Conca Gresini Moto3)
RT Kazuki MASAKI (RBA BOE Skull Rider)
RT Darryn BINDER (Red Bull KTM Ajo)